Murdoch University Handbook

Please visit our Handbook website for more detailed information about courses, units and study available at Murdoch University.


The University reserves the right to cancel, without notice, any course, major, minor or unit if the number of students enrolled falls below limits set by the University.

Regulations and Rules

Students should ensure they are familiar with the University's internal legislation, including provisions specifically relevant to their studies. See the University Regulation overview and view legislation online.

Tuition Fee Calculator

Information on this page, including unit offerings, is from the 2020 academic year.

Student Type: Domestic - Undergraduate - Commonwealth supported - commenced 2010 or later

A Commonwealth-supported student must be an Australian or New Zealand citizen or the holder of an Australian permanent visa.

Each year the Federal Government allocates a number of Commonwealth-supported places to the University in an arrangement known as a Funding Agreement. The agreement specifies, among other matters, how many students the University can enrol as Commonwealth-supported students.

Student Contribution Amounts

The Federal Government contributes to the cost of teaching Commonwealth-supported students. Commonwealth-supported students are also required to make a contribution towards the cost of their course.  Permanent Residents must pay their contribution at the start of each semester. Australian citizens and holders of Humanitarian Permanent Residents visas can pay all or part of their contribution at the start of each semester, or defer it to HECS-HELP.

The cost of each unit of study depends on its funding cluster. The funding clusters are the basis of Commonwealth Government funding for Commonwealth-supported students, and broadly reflect the cost of teaching the area, and the potential earnings of graduates in that subject area.

Note that the fees quoted within the Fees Calculator apply only to units studied in that year; different fees may apply to units studied in future years. Each year on 1 October the fees for the following year will be published.

Guidelines for determining this category of Murdoch student

The following guidelines have been established to determine which students are to be included in this category:

  • The student commenced their course of study as a Commonwealth-supported student on or after 1 January 2010;
  • The student is not included as a pre-2005 HECS student or a 2005 to 2009 HECS student.

Community Development Honours (BA(Hons))


  • Murdoch campus (internal)
  • UnitFunding ClusterCredit PointsEFTSL Fee
    Course Structure - 24 credit points
    Coursework - 12 credit points

    ART604 Advanced Research Methods - 3 points
    MURDOCH: S1-internal, S1-external, S2-internal, S2-external

    Behavioural Science, Social Studies (3b)




    ART503 Honours Seminar in Arts - 3 points
    MURDOCH: S1-internal, S1-external, S2-internal, S2-external

    Clinical Psychology, Foreign Languages, Visual and Performing Arts (5a)




    ART555 Honours Topic - 6 points
    MURDOCH: S1-internal, S1-external, S2-internal, S2-external

    Behavioural Science, Social Studies (3b)




    Thesis - 12 credit points

    COD569 Honours Thesis in Community Development - 12 points
    MURDOCH: S1-internal, S2-internal, Y-internal

    Behavioural Science, Social Studies (3b)




    The onus is on you to ensure that the units selected satisfy all of the course requirements.

    Note: Fees shown have been rounded to the nearest dollar. Not all units are available for online self-enrolment.

    Total required for the course: 24 credit points (1.000 EFTSL).